Skip to main content

BJPS Library: Home

Who We Are...

The Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School Library has a one-of-a-kind relationship with the Indianapolis Public Library (IndyPL). As a "Shared System Partner", BJPS students use their own IndyPL library card to borrow items not only from the BJPS Library, but from any IndyPL branch as well as materials from other Partner libraries around the City.  IndyPL also provides essential digital research tools for students, including databases, eBooks, digital audiobooks, video streaming, and SAT & ACT prep tools. Students are free to use their IndyPL library cards both at school and at the public library. Even if you aren't an Indianapolis resident, your status as a Brebeuf student allows you to function as an IndyPL patron during your high school years. 

BJPS Library Mission: 

It is the mission of Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School library to empower students to be critical thinkers and ethical consumers of information by encouraging them to reflect upon their discoveries and then use their discoveries to create new and enduring knowledge. In addition, we aspire for students to become enthusiastic readers as they develop an appreciation of library services which endures into adulthood.

Ignatian Research Process

 

Content
-Define the question
-Apply Prior Knowledge

Experience
-Identify Keywords
-Get to know 
      -key people

      -key phrases
      -key ideas
-Develop a search strategy
-Locate, gather, and secure resources

Reflection
-Prioritize
-Analyze
-Categorize
-Interpret
-Infer
-Select
-Imagine

Action
-Finalize presentation
-Submit results

Evaluation
-Was product effective?
-Was process efficient?

Library Hours

Monday through Friday

7:15 am - 4:00 pm

Closed weekends and school holidays

Hours subject to change in accordance with the school calendar

Where In The World?

Welcome Back to the Library, Braves!

 

undefined

 

Your  BJPS Librarians are here to assist you during your hybrid learning endeavors! 

Browse our collection online then place a hold. We'll deliver it to your classroom!

Need your library card number? Just email us!

Need an eBook? Try Axis360!

Need some assistance finding or accessing the right database for your academic needs? Send us an email!

 

 

Databases: Not Just for Research

Let this card...

Help you ace this test...

 

The Testing and Education Reference Center provides users with in-depth information on colleges and universities, a scholarship search, and online study courses and full-length (and in some cases timed) practice tests for the PSAT, SAT, and ACT.

 

This database also includes a career assessment tool which uses a multiple-choice exam to match students with the most suitable job categories, industries, and occupations. The Resume Builder and Virtual Careers Library tools helps students build essential career skills like how to build a resume, cover letter, and interviewing tips.

News & Resources for Teachers

Quick Links

Need Graph Paper?

1/4 inch - Full Page
14x14 - 4/page
 14x14 with axes - 4/page

Color Printing

How do I print in color?

Students are not able to print in color, but if you send your document to bjpslibrary@brebeuf.org, Mrs. Karcz or Ms. Russell will print it off for you. Each page costs $.50.  We are not able to "charge" your account, so you will need cash.

In order to have anything with images printed, you will need to include a citation (the PREFERRED method) or, at the very least, an attribution (the URL of the website from where the image was taken).  The attribution should NOT begin with www.google....  Capture the correct information by left-clicking on the image and select copy URL. You can either place the attribution directly under the photo or list them as a group at the end of your document under the heading Image Sources.

Our Library Partners

We appreciate the continued, generous support from the Indianapolis Foundation Library Fund which enables us to provide resources far beyond what we could every do alone. We also value our Shared System partnership with the Indianapolis Marion County Public Library which quite literally places the world at the fingertips of every Brebeuf student and staff member.