Skip to Main Content

Vision 2023: W.E.B. Du Bois

Quote

eBooks

The Will of a People by Richard W. Leeman (Editor); Bernard K. Duffy (Editor)
ISBN: 9780809330577
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
W. E. B. Du Bois by Charisse Burden-Stelly; Gerald Horne
ISBN: 9781440864964
Publication Date: 2019-09-13
The Souls of Black Folk by W.E.B. DuBois
There are two copies of this book available from this source.

Books

African American Political Thought by Melvin L. Rogers (Editor); Jack Turner (Editor)
ISBN: 9780226725918
Publication Date: 2021-02-16
African American Political Thought, 1890-1930 by Cary D. Wintz (Editor)
ISBN: 1563241781
Publication Date: 1995-12-31
This book will be held on reserve in the library for in-library use.
Black Political Thought by Sherrow Pinder (Editor) Contains the essay: The Conservation of the Races / W.E.B. Du Bois
ISBN: 9781107199729
Publication Date: 2019-11-14
Creative Conflict in African American Thought by Wilson Jeremiah Moses Wilson Moses bases this collection of essays on the thought of five major African-American intellectuals: Frederick Douglass, Alexander Crummell, Booker T. Washington, W.E.B. DuBois, and Marcus J. Garvey.
ISBN: 0521828260
Publication Date: 2004-05-10
A Critical Black Pedagogy Reader by Abul Pitre (Editor, Series edited by) Contains the essay: The Education of Black Folk: 1916 / W. E. B. Du Bois
ISBN: 9781475848205
Publication Date: 2019-10-15

W.E.B. Du Bois

Gale Biography in Context Portal

The portal contains biographies, audio,
reference, magazines, primary sources,
academic journals, news, and images

Documents

The Souls of Black Folk
Chapter 3 (which begins on page 18) speaks of Du Bois's thoughts on Booker T. Washington.

The Talented Tenth Talented Tenth (1903), a concept espoused by black educator and author W.E.B. Du Bois, emphasizing the necessity for higher education to develop the leadership capacity among the most able 10 percent of black Americans (Britannica 2023).

Websites

WEBDuBois.org
Robert W. Williams, Ph.D. created this website, and although it doesn't "look" very scholarly, it contains links to many of the articles DuBois wrote
over the years.

W.E.B. DuBois Papers, 1803-1999
This website contains a treasure trove of documents associated with DeBois, including correspondence, speeches, articles, and more.

Databases

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality
Primary sources about people and events in African American History to support learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. and the fight against it.

Black Thought and Culture
Find works of leading African Americans in this collection of articles, interviews, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters, and full run of The Black Panther newspaper.

History Reference Center
US and World History topics are explored through reference books, magazines, and journals.

Religion & Philosophy Collection
This database contains journals for research in theology and philosophy. Topics include world religions, religious history, political philosophy, and moral philosophy.

U.S. History (Gale In Context)
Learn about the most significant people, events, and topics through an overview of U.S. history.