Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click on the image below to be taken to the complete list of databases offered by the IndyPL or use the list of recommended databases in the box below.
NEW FEATURE! iLibrary has a new feature called a Federated Search which allows you to search multiple databases at the same time. Use the new search box on the main iLibrary page to activate this type of search. Be aware that there are pros and cons to using this type of search.
Searches most iLibrary databases
at the same time.
|May search too many or unrelated
|Provides a research starter article.
||May return too many results.
||Use Filters to limit results to the most
Provides a list of suggested books.
||Pay attention to the title of the
database AND the title of the article's
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Use this database to access Encyclopedia Judaica, Encyclopedia of Religion, and Catholic Encyclopedia.
There are two publications that have be proven useful in the past for this project: America and Commonweal.
eBooks on Ebscohost
(Formerly netLibrary) A collection of selected e-books (electronic copies of print titles). Access provided for reading on a PC, not available for downloading or printing. Texts are searchable by keyword. Free registration required.
World History in Context Authoritative materials for the study of World History; selections from Reference Works; primary source materials; full-text magazine and journal articles; images, maps & charts.
Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Databases